I Could See The Light

i could see the light.

it drove out of the sky and

it took away the dark

and the labyrinth i was stuck in,

and the angels came to me and sang

a song or two and then they

were gone and i could hear

the roars of the demons who were

tearing through the flesh of

another victim and you could hear

his agony – filled screams as he was ripped at the seams, and then

i climbed through the dirt but was okay

as i got a good grip of the earth above, and i looked a

cross the treeline – i could

see the light.

so i chased after it –

this light,

this life,

this chance of existence of no one for no one.

and i chased it and caught it

and i let it devour me whole

as it embellished itself into me.

and then i slept and i woke

in the embrace of the light and i let myself

be engulfed by it once again while the sky wept

and the earth wept and they wept tears for us.

i could still see the light as it

drifted further and further away from me

and the darkness took over so

that i was as lost as before

for ten thousand years and i needed

a sensation of the adrenaline and i searched

and searched and found it and i let

it attack me. the sounds of the demons

as they teared through the flesh of another victim

entered into me and i tried to get up

onto the earth above but i could not

and the flames of hell surrounded me

and took me under and i stayed there

for another ten thousand years

and when I was taking my last breath,

i could faintly,

in the distance,

I could

see

the

light.

This piece was inspired by Joseph Danduran’s I could See Her Halo and is an emulation I started in Creative Writing. The original writing was very influential for me because I found the simple structure of it very strong and impactful. It inspired me the second I read it because it was absolutely beautiful and very elegant.  

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *