Lost Friendship

 

Image Source
Link to the original post

Author’s Note: Being someone who’s transferred schools and is always anxious about talking to people, I’ve often drifted apart from my friends or lost contact with them.  Also, if you take a look at the original post, you’ll notice that there is a second poem tacked onto it, however, I just wanted to post the one to the hub since it might be confusing for me to make a two-in-one post.

As we sit on this couch together
I find myself reminiscing
Of what used to be
How I once called you my best friend

Do you feel this awkwardness too?
We sit together in silence
I just can’t seem to break it, though
It’s futile, like rowing against the ocean

You’re so familiar to me, yet so distant
The laughs we once shared
Are now muffled by the years gone by
Can’t you say something? Anything?

You’re like a hollow shell of my childhood
If I look at you for long enough
I can see that dusty courtyard
And hear the buzzing of the school bell

Do you feel that way when you look at me?
I feel guilty for replacing you
Yet, you don’t feel so guilty for ignoring my texts
So why do I cling to you?

It’s scary, to think that maybe
My other friendships will end up like this
What if they start ignoring me
Just like you?

Maybe it doesn’t hurt for you, but it hurts for me
To watch you distance yourself from me
Those unanswered phone calls
And dormant text conversations

I’ve tried my best to salvage this friendship
But I’ll be honest:
I feel like I don’t know you

What happened to those eleven years?
Do they mean nothing to you?
Because they used to mean everything to me

 

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *